Determine who site participants can send a message to

From EdTech Help

This feature gives the option to regulate each role's message composing permissions.

Go to Messages

Go to Messages.png

Select the Messages tool from the Tool Menu in your site.

Click Permissions

Permissions is located below the Course Site title.png

Permissions is located below the Course Site title.

Check the corresponding boxes for desired permissions

Check the corresponding boxes for desired permissions.png

Permissions are assigned on a role-by-role basis. For instance, to prevent a student from sending a message to "All Participants", un-check the Student Permission box located next to the option, "Allow the 'All Participants' options to the 'To' field."

Note: These options will be visible when clicking the "To" text box in Compose a Message, within the Message tool.

Click Save

Click Save or Cancel to quit - Messages.png

Click Save or Cancel to quit.

More questions about the Messages tool?


Sakai.png

This page is adapted from an equivalent Sakai Community help article.

The original Sakai Community help article, unedited, is available at https://sakai.screenstepslive.com/s/sakai_help