Functions within a Teams meeting

From EdTech Help
Revision as of 19:07, 20 August 2021 by Anero (talk | contribs) (→‎Reactions)

Teams Call Toolbar

Teams Call Toolbar.png

During a Teams meeting, the following toolbar should appear across the top of your call window. In order from left to right, the buttons are:

  • Show participants
  • Show conversation
  • Reactions
  • Breakout rooms
  • More actions
  • Camera
  • Microphone
  • Share content
  • Leave

The functions of the buttons are explained below.

Show Participants Button

Participants Button Highlighted.png

Clicking the Show participants button will open the Participants panel on the right side of the meeting window.

Participants.png


The Participants panel will show all participants currently in the meeting, whether each participant's microphone is muted or not, and others who have been invited to the meeting but have not yet joined. From the Participants panel, you can also invite additional participants to the meeting.

Show Conversation Button

Chat Button Highlighted.png

Clicking the Show conversation button will open the Meeting chat panel on the right side of the meeting window.

Meeting Chat .png

In the Meeting chat panel, you will see the name of the meeting, the time the meeting started, and any chat messages from meeting participants. Below the area to Type a new message, you will notice a number of icons that allow you to:

  • Mark a chat message as urgent or important
  • Attach a file
  • Send an emoticon
  • Send a GIF
  • Send a sticker
  • Select other messaging extensions

Reactions

When the Reactions button is clicked, a horizontal panel of reactions can appear. From left to right, these reactions include:

  • Like - liking or agreeing with the presenter
  • Heart - showing love and/or support
  • Applause - celebrating or cheering
  • Laugh - laughter
  • Raise Hand - asking a question, voting, etc.
Reactions.png

When a participant selects a reaction, the icon will momentarily appear over their video feed or profile photo. In the photo below, you can see that another participant in the call has use the Like reaction.

Thumbs Up Reaction.png

When you select the Raise Hand reaction, you will see the Raise Hand icon appear beside your video feed or profile photo, which will also be outlined in yellow. You will also notice a red badge over the Participants the Raise Hand icon appear beside your name in the Participants panel.

Raise Hand Reaction.png

Breakout Rooms Button

Breakout Room Button Highlighted.png

Clicking the Breakout rooms button will open the Create breakout rooms window in your meeting.


Create breakout rooms window.png

From the Create breakout rooms window, you can sort meeting participants into breakout rooms. You can specify the number of breakout rooms you'd like to create, as well as whether you want the sorting of participants to be automatic or manual. See this Microsoft documentation for more information about creating breakout rooms.

More Actions Menu

More Actions Button Highlighted.png

Clicking the ellipses (...) icon opens the More Actions Menu.

More Actions.png

For more details on these options, see our More Actions (...) in a Teams meeting article.

Camera Button

Camera Button Highlighted.png

Clicking the Camera button allows you to turn your camera on or off during the Teams meeting. When a diagonal line appears through the Camera icon, this means your camera is turned off. When there is no diagonal line, just a Camera icon, this means your camera is turned on. In the image above, you can see the Camera is turned off.

Microphone Button

Microphone Button Highlighted.png

Clicking the Microphone button allows you to turn your microphone on or off during the Teams meeting. When a diagonal line appears through the Microphone icon, this means your microphone is muted. When there is no diagonal line, just a Microphone icon, this means your microphone is turned on. In the image above, you can see the Microphone is turned off.

Share Content Button

Share Content Button Highlighted.png

Clicking the Share content button will open the share tray, containing screen sharing options.


Share Screen Options.png

From the share tray, you can select which view you'd like to share, whether that be a whole screen, a specific window, a PowerPoint presentation, or a document. You can also choose to share audio from your device with participants. See this Microsoft documentation for more information about screen sharing.

Leave Meeting Menu

Leave Button Highlighted.png

Clicking the Leave button allows you to leave the Teams meeting.

Leave Meeting Options.png

However, clicking the chevron beside the Leave button opens a Leave Meeting menu. From here, you can chose to Leave the meeting or End meeting. Clicking Leave allows you to leave the meeting while other participants are able to continue the meeting. Clicking End meeting will end the meeting for all participants.

Note: The End meeting option will only appear to the meeting organizer.

More questions about Teams?