Difference between revisions of "Retention Schedules"

From EdTech Help
Line 12: Line 12:
 
| Students lose access || Older than 4 years or whenever the instructor unpublishes the site
 
| Students lose access || Older than 4 years or whenever the instructor unpublishes the site
 
|}
 
|}
''Note: Retention schedules do not apply to Project Sites. Department-wide exceptions have been made on the request of SAC members, for the
+
''Note: Retention schedules do not apply to Project Sites. Department-wide exceptions have been made at the request of SAC members for the
 
purpose of meeting compliance commitments to external entities. ''
 
purpose of meeting compliance commitments to external entities. ''
  

Revision as of 20:27, 24 November 2021

Brock University maintains a retention schedule for key educational technology platforms. This reduces Brock’s data footprint, maintains a records management process, and decreases the resources required to operate the system. These processes are also undertaken to limit legal discovery and freedom of information searches to a reasonable and standardized period and will limit the amount of personal information that could be exposed in the event of a privacy breach.

Isaak - Sakai

Isaak-Sakai course sites that are older than 4 years are deleted on an annual basis. Older Isaak-Sakai course site content can easily be copied into newer sites, project sites, or exported from key tools.

Instructors lose access Older than 4 years unless otherwise requested
Students lose access Older than 4 years or whenever the instructor unpublishes the site

Note: Retention schedules do not apply to Project Sites. Department-wide exceptions have been made at the request of SAC members for the purpose of meeting compliance commitments to external entities.

Microsoft Teams

Archiving Teams course sites happens automatically at the end of the Term.

Instructors interested in extending the default archival and expiry dates of the course ‘Teams’ sites can request a change by emailing the Centre for Pedagogical Innovation at edtech@brocku.ca or follow the instructions for restoring archived sites.

Archived for Instructors 15 days after the course is complete
Instructors lose access Never
Hidden, read-only access for Students 15 days after the course is complete
Students lose access 30 days after the course is complete

More information on the retention schedule for Microsoft Teams sites.